Legislative Action Item: S.219

S.219 is the piece of Vermont legislation that is most likely to move forward on the subject of police reform before the legislature adjourns next Friday, June 26th. It’s currently with the Senate Judiciary Committee, which is chaired by Sen. Dick Sears rsears@leg.state.vt.us (802) 828-2228, 343 Matteson Rd., North Bennington, VT 05257.

Please reach out to your legislators to express your support for S.219.

Here’s some suggested language:

I am writing as a constituent of your district to urge you to use your position of power and privilege to support S.219.

Vermonters across the political spectrum are bearing witness to the brutality inflicted on Black people and other people of color by the police in our state and across the country, and they are standing up to demand change. We need you to stand beside us.

Silence in the face of racism and White supremacy is deafening. You have the opportunity and responsibility to be a vocal advocate for justice in our state, and I hope you will consider supporting these efforts and engaging in discussions about racism and white supremacy in the Vermont legislature.

Sincerely, your constituent,

[NAME]

[ADDRESS]

Additional tips:

  1. Share a personal story about why this legislation matters so much to you.
  2. Don’t forget to include your contact information—they probably won’t reply, but this will confirm that you’re a real person. If you’re actually from their district, they’ll take even more interest in your message.
  3. Be polite. It’s ok to be angry and hurt. But since you’re asking these legislators to do something, they’re more likely to respond sympathetically if you’re encouraging them to do the right thing.
  4. Afterwards, tell friends and family what you did. Share it on social media. This will encourage others to follow your example.
  5. Consider writing a letter to the editor of your local paper about why one or all of these bills matter so much to you.

Check back on the progress of this legislation. Keep reaching out to your legislators. The squeaky wheel gets the grease!

Contact information for Rutland County legislators is below.

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR RUTLAND COUNTY SENATORS – PLEASE CONTACT ALL 3:

Senator #1: Democrat Senator Cheryl Hooker
11 Royce St, Rutland City VT 05701
353-7288
chooker@leg.state.vt.us 

Senator #2: Republican Senator Brian Collamore 
124 Patricia Ln, Rutland Town VT 05701
773-1365
bcollamore@leg.state.vt.us

Senator #3: Republican Senator James McNeil
137 Ruth Ave, Rutland Town VT 05701
(802) 779-7269
jmcneil@leg.state.vt.us

 

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR RUTLAND COUNTY REPRESENTATIVES – PLEASE FIND YOUR TOWN AND CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATOR(S) (Some towns have 2 legislators – you should contact both of them):

Add-Rut Benson, Orwell, Whiting, Shoreham
Independent Rep. Terry Norris
525 Palmer Rd, Shoreham VT 05770
(802) 828-2228
tnorris@leg.state.vt.us 

Ben-Rut Danby, Dorset, Landgrove, Mount Tabor, Peru, East Dorset
Democrat-Republican Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan
932 Mcnamara Rd, Dorset VT 05251
(802) 778-1087
Lsullivan@Leg.State.vt.us

Ben-Rut Middletown Springs, Pawlet, Rupert, Wells, Tinmouth
Progressive Rep. Robin Chesnut-Tangerman  
72 Sundog Ln, Middletown Springs VT 05757
(802) 828-2228
rchesnut-tangerman@leg.state.vt.us 

Rut-1 Ira, Poultney
Republican Rep. Patricia A. McCoy
1392 High Rd, Poultney VT 05764
(802) 828-2228
pmccoy@leg.state.vt.us 

Rut-2 Clarendon, Proctor, West Rutland, Wallingford, East Tinmouth, North Clarendon
Legislator #1: Democrat Rep. Dave Potter
462 E Tinmouth Rd, West Rutland VT 05777
(802) 438-5385
dpotter@leg.state.vt.us

Legislator #2: Republican Rep. Thomas Burditt
1118 Clarendon Ave, West Rutland VT 05777
(802) 828-2228
tburditt@leg.state.vt.us 

Rut-3 Castleton, Fair Haven, Hubbardton, West Haven
Legislator #1: Republican Rep. Bill Canfield
12 Pine St, Fair Haven VT 05743
(802) 828-2228
wcanfield@leg.state.vt.us

Legislator #2: Republican Rep. Bob Helm
647 VT Route 4a E, Fair Haven VT 05743
(802) 828-2228
rhelm@leg.state.vt.us 

Rut-4 Rutland Town
Republican Rep. Thomas Terenzini
34 Chasanna Dr, B, Rutland Town VT 05701
(802) 828-2228
tterenzini@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-5-1 Rutland City
Republican Rep. Peter Fagan
17 Clinton Ave, Rutland City VT 05701
(802) 828-2228
pfagan@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-5-2 Rutland City
Republican Rep. Larry “Cooper” Cupoli
57 Piedmont Pond Rd, Rutland City VT 05701
(802) 828-2228
lcupoli@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-5-3 Rutland City
Democrat Rep. Mary Howard
17 Griswold Dr, Rutland City VT 05701
(802) 828-2228
MHoward@leg.state.vt.us 

Rut-5-4 Rutland City
Democrat Rep. William Notte
8 Orchard Dr. Rutland City VT 05701
(802) 828-2228
wnotte@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-6 Brandon, Pittsford, Sudbury
Legislator #1: Democrat Rep. Stephanie Jerome 
515 Wheeler Rd, Brandon VT 05733
(802) 828-2228
sjerome@leg.state.vt.us

Legislator #2: Republican Rep. Butch Shaw
Po Box 197, Pittsford VT 05763
(802) 828-2228
bshaw@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-Wdr-1 Chittenden, Killington, Mendon, Bridgewater
Republican Rep. Jim Harrison
75 Lazy Acres Rd, No. Chittenden VT 05763
(802) 236-3001
jharrison@leg.state.vt.us

 Rut-Wdr-2 Ludlow, Mount Holly, Shrewsbury
Democrat-Progressive Rep. Logan Nicoll
11 Depot St, Ludlow VT 05149
(802) 828-2228
lnicoll@leg.state.vt.us

 Wdr-Rut Bethel, Pittsfield, Rochester, Stockbridge
Progressive Rep. Sandy Haas
360 S Main St, Rochester VT 05767
(802) 828-2228
shaas@leg.state.vt.us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s